Where are my parts?

This is a photo of a typical batch of parts that I pick up from powdercoat every 1-2 weeks.  As you can see there are a few different colors and many different items.

Now what most people dont realize is that I outsource all my products for powdercoat. I have a local shop that does very nice work. The turnaround time varies depending on how busy they are, and/or what colors they are doing. It is not an easy task to change the color in the powdercoat gun for 1 or 2 parts and then change it again to another color. It would not be very efficient or profitable either. You also cannot cure multiple colors in the oven at the same time, or else you risk contamination in the powdercoat.

 

With that said, depending on what is getting coated at the time, and what color you decide, it can be finished in 1 or 2 days or sometimes almost two weeks or more  if the shop is busy.  All of my parts are custom, made to order, and that takes time. I like to offer that option, because most people want something different, and not the same as everyone else.

I am also overwhelmed with orders and have been operating with a 2-3 week waiting list. That means, depending on your order, it may take 2-3 weeks before your parts will be fabricated and sent out to powdercoat. I am a one-man operation and I handle every step of the process myself. From ordering the raw materials, to cutting, machining, cleaning, welding and checking every item before it gets powdercoated. Then the items get assembled, cleaned, packed and shipped to you. I prefer to handle every step to assure every item is 100% before it leaves my hands.  When you receive your order, I hope you enjoy everything as much as I do during the fabrication process.

   -Dominic Biro

You can view more photos of my recent work on Flickr:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/46382132@N00/

    • Donald
    • July 3rd, 2011

    Awesome stuff Dom! People need to chill. Quality takes time. Your work speaks for itself. Hope to order in a few months.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

